Bug Reports (Shockwave) -- CLOSED :  Conqueror! Forum
NOTICE: This section is closed as the Shockwave version of the game is no longer under development. 
has anybody finished a game recently?
Posted by: hallali ()
Date: November 27, 2006 02:29PM

The last few games I played all crashed the way I described it before (becomes slow, can´t click on countries and make moves, then crashes).

Has anybody finished a game recently? Or has the same problems?

Because I´m not quite sure, if it is a problem with my computer or with the game.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: has anybody finished a game recently?
Posted by: politicalmind ()
Date: November 27, 2006 05:39PM

This is the same problem described in the thread just below you. I am a programmer, and I think I may have some incite. Before the Thanksgiving vacation I had the same problem, with a great deal of lag after a certain turn, for me it was specifically after winter of the 12th year. When I came back, I experienced a bug in the exact same place, but instead of becoming slow and seemingly laggy after a certain point, I instead could never finish a turn, even though the clock kept clicking and my turns kept ending. The game continued on and I could not effect anything because I was told over and over that I had already sent my turns.

I am a HUGE proponent of this game... it's amazingly entertaining, and if I can actually finish my first game, I would do just about anything to forward this project however it needs. Thanks for the game, it's wonderful!

Posted by: admin ()
Date: November 27, 2006 09:39PM

It's not your computer; it's a slight modification that we made to the code, that seems to cause an exponential slowdown once empires get bigger (12-15 provinces), around turn 50-60 or so, depending.

We made optimiziations to the code in version 93, so that should improve things greatly when it's ready.

Thanks!

Posted by: hallali ()
Date: November 28, 2006 11:09AM