Re: exact production power
Date: July 30, 2008 04:04AM
Well, I have been obligated by myself to find out what's going on, and here is a summary..
But first, some stuff that are clearly wrong in the manual (concerning production, ofcourse):
1. Develop/Advance culture cost 40/80 respectively.
2. Fort/Keep/Castle cost 40/80/160 and can fortify 5/10/25 forces respectively.
After a long half-satisfying intercourse with the game, and having licked some equations over and over again, I came (to the following conclusion/s) :
[The original formula:]
The production formula "Production = (Pop + Res) * Culture * Devotion" explained in the instructions is almost correct.
Culture is supposed to be 1/2/3, Devotion between 1 (fully rebelious) and 2 (fully devoted)
However, I tested only fully devoted situations and found that:
1. In culture 2 or 3, after the first turn, there is always a penalty of 1 from the original formula, which is constant, but turns to 2 :( at some city size (6-9..I'll find out..) Perhaps in larger cities it even becomes 3.
2. Only in culture 1 (primitive) territories, the behaviour was very strange ..
They WERE fully devoted, resources acted ok with formula, this is an example with no resources on territory so it SHOULD be
Production = Pop*Culture*Devotion = Pop*2 , but in fact :
pop | production pop | production
1 | 2 6 | 15
2 | 5 7 | 18
3 | 7 8 | 20
4 | 10 9 | 23
5 | 13
In the formula it does fit ... but only if Culture*Devotion is 2.5 and some other minor change...
There are a lot of solutions to C*D=2.5, but if we try as if devotion is 2 as it is supposed to be, we get culture of 1.25. If culture is 1, we get 2.5 devotion (not ok).
The solution I stick to unless the developer says otherwise is C=1.25, D=2.
Now we only have a rounding problem, but it looks as if he rounds down on cities of 3 (or 4) and below, and round up on larger cities... ask him!
If u apply these rules - all is "perfect" in production!
And no, there is no production surplus remembered - it's all lost! Why?! It should be there IMHO.
Whichever I choose it amounts to the same - absolutely nothing.